QARGOS 借助 3DEXPERIENCE 平台上的 MODSIM 工具简化开发流程,并致力于不依赖物理原型

创新型运输解决方案提供商使用 SOLIDWORKS 和 3DEXPERIENCE Works Simulation 产品组合,成功将车辆重量减轻了 30%,优化了空气动力学性能,并最大限度减少了物理原型的需要。

挑战

开发、发明和推出世界上首款专为可持续物流运营而设计的智能化两轮电动紧凑型物流车,拥有比现有摩托车和踏板车更大的载货能力,在拥挤的城市环境中以更安全、更高效的方式运送货物。

解决方案

利用基于云的 3DEXPERIENCE® Works 产品组合提供统一、集成的建模和仿真 (MODSIM) 方法,以此加速创新步伐,同时在协作的 3DEXPERIENCE 平台上安全地管理数据。在基于云的 3DEXPERIENCE 平台上,借助 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS® 白金版、Collaborative Industry Innovator、SIMULIA Durability 和 Mechanics Engineer、SIMULIA Fluid Dynamics Engineer、SIMULIA Electromagnetics Engineer、SIMULIA Plastic Injection Engineer、3D Motion Creator 和 3DSwymer 角色,实施数字孪生方法开发虚拟原型。

成效

  • 车辆重量减少 30%,节省材料成本并提高车辆效率
  • 车辆空气动力学得到优化,减少了由阻力引起的骑手疲劳
  • 加强了电池热管理以提高效率、安全性和续航力
  • 货舱的尺寸得到最大化,提升货物的承载能力

2016 年,电气工程师 Vijay K. Praveen 及其位于印度的初创公司 QARGOS® 踏上了开发环保两轮电动车和电动自行车的旅程。公司经过全面的市场分析,发现物流行业在使用两轮车辆运输 20 公斤至 120 公斤 (44 磅至 264 磅) 货物方面存在明显的需求缺口。这一缺口转化为超过 50 亿美元体量的市场机会,而该公司计划填补这一缺口。其首款创新电动货运车辆旨在提高人口稠密地区的物流效率,并推动全球向可持续交通解决方案转型。

背包和货箱会给两轮车驾驶者带来健康和安全隐患。QARGOS F9 货运踏板车专为那些在两轮摩托车、轻便摩托车或自行车上携带背包或后箱货物的人而设计。QARGOS 在 2018 年正式开始全力研发 F9。该公司参与了 SOLIDWORKS® 初创企业计划,并使用  SOLIDWORKS 3D CAD 创建了初步的设计概念。在了解了由 3DEXPERIENCE® Works 提供的统一建模和仿真方法 (MODSIM) 之后,QARGOS 于 2021 年在其 SOLIDWORKS 工具中添加了基于云的解决方案。

在两轮车上打造皮卡体验

在 QARGOS F9 的设计中,保持重心稳定是一项重大挑战。由于车辆在空载和 125 公斤 (275 磅) 满载时需要保持动态稳定,这一设计需要采用涉及多次迭代的综合开发方法。正如联合创始人 Alok Das 强调的,这一过程的基础是广泛的仿真、详尽的测试以及与潜在客户的持续互动。

“新增  3DEXPERIENCE Works 解决方案特别是 MODSIM 工作流程,极大地提升了我们的能力,并改善了我们的开发工作,”Das 强调说,“由于 3DEXPERIENCE Works 仿真解决方案与 SOLIDWORKS 完全集成,设计和仿真之间的转换非常顺畅,这为我们每次迭代通过仿真方式来改进设计提供了很大支持。”

公司计划以不依赖原型的方式开发车辆,这要求 QARGOS 工程师在早期开发阶段探索数百种设计替代方案。SOLIDWORKS 和 3DEXPERIENCE Works 的统一化方法使开发工作得以更快推进。通过轻松访问所有产品开发工具,并利用云端的高性能计算进行复杂仿真,QARGOS 的关键利益相关者可以从任何位置访问和共享数据,让工作变得轻轻松松。

相关资源

通过 SOLIDWORKS 和 3DEXPERIENCE Works 解决方案,我们不仅开发了一款创新产品,还推动了物流业务的革命,为未来的可持续发展注入了动力。

联合创始人 Alok Das
Alok Das
联合创始人

产品更轻便,上市时间更快

QARGOS 利用 3DEXPERIENCE Works Simulation 预测产品在实际场景中的表现,解决了复杂的工程问题,无需昂贵且繁琐的物理原型测试。“我们进行了多种类型的仿真,这导致多个领域实现了显著的性能提升。”Das 指出。通过仿真空气动力学、电池热管理和底盘强度及[结构]完整性,QARGOS 得以更快地将 F9 推向市场。

该公司还决定使用不同于供应商推荐的车辆底盘材料进行设计验证,这使重量减轻了 30%。“我们优化了车辆周围的空气流动和骑行者受到的阻力,并通过仿真优化了电池温度,验证了流体冷却系统比空气冷却更有效,”Das 解释,“我们充分增大了货舱的尺寸,几乎大到可以容纳一个人坐下。”凭借最佳仿真实践和集成式工作流程,Das 和他的工程团队提高了产品性能的可预测性,同时减少了物理原型制作和测试,并节省了成本和时间。

更安全的卓越数据管理

除了受益于 3DEXPERIENCE Works 仿真外,QARGOS 还利用了该产品组合的数据管理功能,以在开发过程中加强版本控制。该公司还利用 SOLIDWORKS 模型的设计视觉来促进客户参与和测试。“我们与潜在客户分享了我们的储物仓模型。这为超过 500 次产品演示和超过 30,000 英里 (48,000 公里) 的道路测试奠定了基础。”Das 解释说。

3DEXPERIENCE Works 的数据管理能力可确保我们的数据纯净、安全,并确保来自客户的反馈不会丢失,并能融入我们的设计迭代中,”Das 说,“通过 SOLIDWORKS 和 3DEXPERIENCE Works 解决方案,我们不仅开发了一款创新产品,还推动了物流业务的革命,为未来的可持续发展注入了动力。”

详细了解 SOLIDWORKS 和 3DEXPERIENCE Works

对 SOLIDWORKS 解决方案有疑问?

SOLIDWORKS 解决方案能让您和您的团队迅速地将新创意转化为优秀的产品。

QARGOS Streamlines Development and Aims for Zero Physical Prototypes with MODSIM on the 3DEXPERIENCE Platform

Innovative transportation solutions provider reduces vehicle weight by 30 percent, optimizes aerodynamics, and minimizes the need for physical prototypes with SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Works Simulation portfolio.

Challenge

Invent, develop, and commercialize the world’s first purpose-driven, electric, smart, two-wheeled, compact logistics vehicle to revolutionize sustainable  logistics operations by providing a safer, more efficient means to deliver goods in crowded urban settings with greater load capacity than existing motorcycles and scooters.

Solution

Leverage the unified, integrated modeling and simulation (MODSIM) approach offered by the cloud-enabled 3DEXPERIENCE® Works portfolio to accelerate innovation, while securely managing data on the collaborative 3DEXPERIENCE platform. Implement a digital-twin approach to virtual prototyping with the help of 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS® Premium, Collaborative Industry Innovator, SIMULIA Durability & Mechanics Engineer, SIMULIA Fluid Dynamics Engineer, SIMULIA Electromagnetics Engineer, SIMULIA Plastic Injection Engineer, 3D Motion Creator, and 3DSwymer roles on the cloud-based 3DEXPERIENCE platform.

Results

  • Reduced vehicle weight by 30 percent, saving material cost and increasing vehicle efficiency
  • Optimized vehicle aerodynamics, reducing rider fatigue due to drag forces
  • Enhanced battery thermal management to  improve efficiency, safety, and range
  • Maximized size of cargo compartment, increasing cargo payload capacity

In 2016, electrical engineer Vijay K. Praveen and his India-based startup QARGOS® started a journey to develop eco-friendly two-wheel electric vehicles and e-bikes. The company’s comprehensive market analysis uncovered a significant gap in the logistics sector for transporting cargo between 20 and 120 kg (44 and 264 lbs) using two-wheel vehicles. This gap translated to a market opportunity exceeding US $5 billion that the company aimed to fill. Its first innovative electric cargo vehicle was tailored to enhance logistics in densely populated regions and advance the world’s transition to sustainable transportation solutions.

Backpacks and boxes pose health and safety concerns for drivers of two-wheel vehicles. The QARGOS F9 Cargo Scooter is designed to serve individuals carrying cargo in wearable backpacks or rear boxes on two-wheel motorbikes, mopeds, or bicycles. QARGOS began developing the F9 in earnest in 2018. The company participated in the SOLIDWORKS® for Startups Program and used SOLIDWORKS 3D CAD to create preliminary design concepts. After getting a demonstration of the unified modeling and simulation approach (MODSIM) made possible by 3DEXPERIENCE® Works, QARGOS took the next step by adding cloud-based solutions to its SOLIDWORKS installation in 2021.

Engineer a Pickup Truck Experience on Two Wheels

Maintaining the center of gravity presented a significant challenge in the QARGOS F9 design. Because the vehicle needs to remain dynamically stable when unloaded and loaded with up to 275 lbs, the design required a comprehensive development approach involving multiple iterations. As Co-founder Alok Das points out, this process was underpinned by extensive simulation, thorough testing, and continuous engagement with potential customers.

“The addition of the 3DEXPERIENCE Works solutions—particularly the MODSIM workflows—magnified our capabilities and elevated our development efforts,” Das stresses. “Because 3DEXPERIENCE Works Simulation solutions are fully integrated with SOLIDWORKS, the transition between design and simulation is seamless, supporting the simulation-driven approach that helped us improve the design with every iteration.”

The company’s plan to develop the vehicle with zero prototyping required QARGOS engineers to explore hundreds of design alternatives in the early development stage. The unified approach with SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Works enabled development to progress more quickly. Easy access to all the product development tools and leveraging high-performance computing on the cloud for complex simulations made it simple for critical stakeholders at QARGOS to access and share data from any location.

Related Resources

With SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Works solutions, we’ve not just developed an innovative product but have launched a revolution in the logistics operations that will fuel a sustainable business for years to come.

Alok Das, Co-Founder
Alok Das
Co-Founder

Faster Time to Market with a Lighter Product

QARGOS solved complex engineering problems without expensive and tedious physical prototype testing using 3DEXPERIENCE Works Simulation to predict how products perform in real-world scenarios. “We’ve done many different types of simulations, which have led to dramatic performance-enhancing improvements in several areas,” Das notes. Simulating aerodynamics, battery thermal management, and the chassis strength and [structural] integrity enabled QARGOS to bring the F9 to market more quickly.

The company also decided to validate the design using a material different from what a supplier recommended for the vehicle chassis, which resulted in a 30 percent reduction in weight. “We optimized the airflow around the vehicle and the drag forces on the rider, and we optimized the battery temperature using simulation to verify that a fluid cooling system was more effective than air cooling,” explains Das. “We also maximized the cargo compartment size, which is almost large enough for a person to sit in.” With simulation best practices and integrated workflows, Das and his engineering teams have increased the predictability of product performance while saving money and time by reducing physical prototyping and testing.

Superior and More Secure Data Management

In addition to benefiting from 3DEXPERIENCE Works Simulation, QARGOS tapped the portfolio’s data management capabilities to tighten revision controls during development. The company also utilized design visuals from the SOLIDWORKS model to initiate customer engagement and testing. “We’ve shared a model of our storage compartment with potential customers. That set the stage for more than 500 product demonstrations and more than 30,000 miles of road testing,” Das explains.

3DEXPERIENCE Works data management capabilities ensure that our data is clean and secure and that feedback from customers isn’t lost and makes its way into our design iterations,” Das says. “With SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Works solutions, we’ve not just developed an innovative product but have launched a revolution in the logistics operations that will fuel a sustainable business for years to come.”

Learn More About SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Works

Have questions about SOLIDWORKS Solutions?

SOLIDWORKS solutions enable you and your team to quickly transform new ideas into great products.