通过使用 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS,SFC 将设计错误减少了 40%

环境技术公司通过利用 3DEXPERIENCE Works 的设计、优化和数据管理解决方案,加快废水处理系统的开发。

挑战

通过从 2D 工具完全转向 3D 工具,提高废水处理设备设计和制造的效率和效益,同时,利用改善的数据管理和设计验证以及日益增加的设计重用和协作,缩短设计周期和产品上市时间。

解决方案

在基于云的 3DEXPERIENCE 平台上,将 AutoCAD 和 Bentley Systems 设计工具替换为 3DEXPERIENCE® Works 3D 机械设计、验证、数据管理、协作和通信解决方案,包括 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS® 白金版和 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS 专业版角色。

成效

  • 设计周期缩短 30%
  • 产品上市时间缩短 25%
  • 错误减少 40%
  • 设计重用率提高 100%

SFC Environmental Technologies Pvt. Ltd. 是一家总部位于印度的全球公司,提供先进的技术和设备,用于处理城市污水和其他废水,以及固体废料和太阳能污泥干燥系统。SFC 还提供多种面向未来的技术,如涡轮鼓风机和圆盘过滤机,以及完整的设计、工程、采购和项目管理服务。

该公司成立于 2004 年,直至 2022 年 8 月才开始使用 AutoCAD® 和 Bentley Systems 2D 设计工具开发废水处理系统。由于缺乏数据管理和修订控制,再加上整体效率低下,以及系统存在问题,最终造成了延迟和错误。工程主管 Mandar Desai 解释说:“由于缺乏修订数据,我们的产品在成本优化上遇到了很大麻烦。设计人员与采购部门之间无法有效协作,所有数据都存储在本地驱动器上,因此很难跟踪[历史记录]和修订数据。”

 

相关资源

“借助 3DEXPERIENCE Works 数据管理,数据可以存储在云端,并进行系统安排,因此可以随时随地进行访问,从而在跨职能团队之间实现无缝协作,并提高项目可见性。凭借这些功能,产品生命周期管理 (PLM) 成为可能,可自动跟踪团队成员在 3DEXPERIENCE 平台上做出的设计更改。

Mandar Desai
Mandar Desai
工程主管

减少错误

通过转为使用 3DEXPERIENCE® Works 解决方案,SFC 解决了其数据管理和修订控制的问题。Desai 表示:“借助 3DEXPERIENCE Works 数据管理,数据可以存储在云端,并进行系统安排,因此可以随时随地进行访问,从而实现无缝协作”。“凭借这些功能,产品生命周期管理 (PLM) 成为可能,可自动跟踪团队成员在 3DEXPERIENCE 平台上做出的设计更改。”

通过完全控制设计修订,SFC 的设计错误减少了 40%,设计重用率提高了 100%。该公司还利用 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS 的仿真功能验证设计概念,以进一步提高质量和性能。Desai 解释道:“设计验证功能使我们能够验证设计、发现潜在问题并进行必要的更改以优化成本,从而提高产品质量,实现成本效益。3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS 让从已有的 2D 数据迁移到 3D 数据成为可能,进而简化转换过程,并有助于更好地利用最新设计工具。”

通过协作,缩短设计周期

“3DEXPERIENCE Works 解决方案显著改善了数据管理和修订控制,可以在设计团队之间实现无缝协作,还能根据不断变化的项目要求,快速整合设计更改,”Desai 补充道。他总结说:“通过 3DEXPERIENCE Works 解决方案,我们体验到了加强协作、简化数据管理和高效设计验证的优势,产品开发流程更加成功且经济高效。”通过改进的协作、严格的修订控制和验证工具,SFC 能够仅在一年多的时间内,将设计周期缩短 30%,产品上市时间缩短 25%。

详细了解 SOLIDWORKS 和 3DEXPERIENCE Works

对 SOLIDWORKS 解决方案有疑问?

SOLIDWORKS 解决方案能让您和您的团队迅速地将新创意转化为优秀的产品。

SFC Slashes Design Errors by 40% with 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS

Environmental technologies company speeds up the development of wastewater treatment systems by leveraging 3DEXPERIENCE Works design, optimization, and data management solutions.

Challenge

Improve the efficiency and effectiveness of wastewater treatment equipment design and manufacturing by moving entirely from 2D to 3D tools while simultaneously shortening design cycles and time to market through better data management and design validation, and increased design reuse and collaboration.

Solution

Replace AutoCAD and Bentley Systems design tools with 3DEXPERIENCE® Works 3D mechanical design, validation, data management, collaboration, and communication solutions—including 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS® Premium and 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS Professional roles—on the cloud-based 3DEXPERIENCE platform.

Result

  • Cut design cycles by 30 percent
  • Shortened time to market by 25 percent
  • Reduced errors by 40 percent
  • Increased design reuse by 100 percent

SFC Environmental Technologies Pvt. Ltd., a global company based in India, provides advanced technologies and equipment for the treatment of municipal sewage and other wastewater, as well as the handling and treatment of solid waste and systems for solar drying of sludge. SFC also provides futuristic technologies such as turbo blowers and disc filters, along with complete design, engineering, procurement, and project management services.

The company was founded in 2004 and until August 2022, used AutoCAD® and Bentley Systems 2D design tools to develop wastewater treatment systems. Lack of data management and revision controls coupled with an overall inefficient and problematic system caused delays and errors. Engineering Head Mandar Desai explains, “Cost optimization for our products was hindered by a lack of revision data. There was no effective collaboration between design members and purchase departments, and all data was stored on a local drive, making it difficult to track [historical] and revision data.”

 

Related Resources

“With 3DEXPERIENCE Works data management, data is stored in the cloud and arranged systematically, so it can be accessed anywhere at any time, allowing seamless collaboration among cross-functional teams and improved project visibility. With these capabilities, product lifecycle management (PLM) becomes possible, with automatic tracking of design changes made by team members on the

Mandar Desai
Mandar Desai
Engineering Head

Reducing Errors

By moving to 3DEXPERIENCE® Works solutions, SFC solved its data management and revision control issues. “With 3DEXPERIENCE Works data management, data is stored in the cloud and arranged systematically, so it can be accessed anywhere at any time, allowing seamless collaboration,” Desai notes. “With these capabilities, product lifecycle management (PLM) becomes possible, with automatic tracking of design changes made by team members on the 3DEXPERIENCE platform.”

With complete control over design revisions, SFC has realized a 40% reduction in design errors and a 100% increase in design reuse. The company also leverages the simulation capabilities of 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS to validate design concepts to further improve quality and performance. Desai clarifies, “Design validation capabilities enabled us to validate designs, identify potential issues, and make necessary changes to optimize costs, resulting in improved product quality and cost-effectiveness. Data migration from pre-existing 2D data to 3D was made possible by 3DEXPERIENCE SOLIDWORKS, streamlining the transition and facilitating better utilization of the latest design tools.”

Faster Design Cycles via Collaboration

“3DEXPERIENCE Works solutions have significantly improved data management and revision control, allowing seamless collaboration between design teams and rapid incorporation of design changes based on evolving project requirements,” Desai adds. “With 3DEXPERIENCE Works solutions, we have experienced enhanced collaboration, simplified data management, and efficient design validation, leading to more successful and cost-efficient product development processes,” he concludes. Better collaboration, tight revision controls, and validation tools have enabled SFC to shorten design cycles by 30% and reduce times to market by 25% in just over a year.

Learn More About SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Works

Have questions about SOLIDWORKS Solutions?

SOLIDWORKS solutions enable you and your team to quickly transform new ideas into great products.