无人驾驶货运直升机公司 Range Aero 将开发时间缩短 40%

在将 3DEXPERIENCE Works Simulation 与 SOLIDWORKS 集成后,Range Aero 成功将设计周期缩短 30%、将原型制造成本降低 40%,并将起落架重量减轻 18%。

挑战

开发自主货运直升机(同轴旋翼无人机),用于快速、经济地进行商业和军事运输,加快上市时间。利用高级仿真工具分析复杂的物理行为,从而消除耗时且成本高昂的设计和原型迭代。

解决方案

用 SIMULIA Abaqus® 高级仿真工具替换 Siemens Simcenter® 仿真软件,分析几何、材料和接触非线性问题,代替冗长、昂贵的原型迭代。

成果

  • 开发时间缩短 40%
  • 研发成本降低 30%
  • 原型制造成本削减 40%
  • Jestar 滑轨起落架重量减轻 18%

客户案例 - 第一部分

RangeAero Private Limited 是一家总部位于印度的公司,主要为区域商业和军事运输开发创新的无人驾驶自主货运直升机。同轴旋翼的 RangeAero 直升机由地面人员驾驶和控制。这些特点可为在区域内运输较少数量的货物提供许多优势,包括对基础设施和人类飞行员的依赖度更低、操作灵活性更高、速度更快、负载能力更优、操作成本更低以及排碳量更少。

SOLIDWORKS 客户案例内容

该公司在设计旋翼飞机时遇到了几项特殊的工程挑战,其中包括复杂的机械和空气动力学特性,这是由于旋翼、机身和周围空气之间的相互作用产生了非定常气动载荷,因而造成不必要的振动和噪音。在设计结构时,还必须考虑到旋翼叶片的柔韧性以及飞机结构对非定常气动载荷的动态响应。此外,为了实现最佳的性能和效率,必须确保旋翼直升机体积轻便小巧。这又给该公司带来了一项巨大挑战,因为减小旋翼直升机的重量和尺寸不免会影响到其结构的完整性、稳定性和可控性。

RangeAero 使用了 SOLIDWORKS® 白金版设计和分析软件进行设计建模和基本的线性静态应力分析。该公司还使用了 Siemens Simcenter® 仿真工具。当 RangeAero 需要高级非线性仿真工具的强大功能来快速、经济地开发其产品时,该公司将其 Siemens 工具替换为 SIMULIA Abaqus 高级仿真工具(3DEXPERIENCE® Works Simulation 解决方案产品组合中的产品),因为 Abaqus 可以解决与开发旋翼飞机相关的所有非线性问题。

RangeAero 首席执行官 Arpit Sharma 表示:“使用 Abaqus 能够仿真复杂的机械行为,包括非线性材料行为、几何非线性行为和接触力学行为。通过与其他软件工具(特别是 [SOLIDWORKS] CAD 软件)相集成,他们还简化了设计流程,减少了完成分析任务所需的时间和工作量。”

Abaqus 可仿真非线性材料的行为,包括塑性、粘弹性和损坏。这对于模拟在应力下表现出复杂行为的材料(如聚合物、复合材料和金属)的行为特别有用。在设计复杂的航空航天系统时使用 Abaqus 解决方案,可减少设计迭代次数。就我们的第一款产品而言,我们经过 3 次迭代和为期 8 个月的开发完成该产品,这比仅依靠物理测试所需的 5 次迭代减少了 40%。

Arpit Sharma
Arpit Sharma
联合创始人兼首席执行官

相关资源

使用高级工具促进复杂仿真以优化性能

借助 Abaqus 高级仿真工具的强大功能,RangeAero 能够模拟影响旋翼飞机性能的所有不同类型物理现象的影响,其中包括非线性结构分析、旋翼动态分析、起落架上的动态跌落仿真、非线性接触分析和非线性材料(复合材料、碳纤维、合金等)分析(包括塑性、粘弹性和疲劳分析)。

此外,Sharma 补充说:“Abaqus 可自动化许多在设置和运行仿真时所涉及的任务,它们繁琐且耗时,例如网格化、边界条件和后处理。”这样就腾出了时间来专注于设计过程的其他方面,例如优化和验证。

节省时间和资金,在市场竞争中制胜

“Abaqus 还有助于在制作昂贵的原型或投入生产之前,在流程的早期发现设计问题。在制造产品之前仿真产品行为可以及早发现并纠正潜在问题,避免代价高昂的延迟和返工。此外,Abaqus 还有助于优化设计,减少材料的使用,从而节省成本,”Sharma 指出。借助 Abaqus,RangeAero 大幅减少了设计和原型迭代次数,将设计周期缩短了 30%,将原型制作成本降低了 40%,并将总体开发成本削减了 30%,同时提前五个月将产品推向了市场。使用 Abaqus 仿真工具后,RangeAero 可超越设计验证并优化设计。

要在快速发展的无人驾驶飞机[即无人机]行业中占据优势,公司必须打造优质的创新产品,并抢先将其投向市场。Sharma 总结道:“RangeAero 必须加快开发速度,并且更迅速地解决工程难题。得益于 Abaqus 仿真工具,RangeAero 正在有条不紊地克服这些挑战,只有更充分地利用这些工具,我们才更有可能在市场竞争中抢占先机,并且成为市场的领导者。”

了解有关 3DEXPERIENCE Works 和 SOLIDWORKS 的更多信息

对 SOLIDWORKS 和 3DEXPERIENCE Works 解决方案存有疑问?

SOLIDWORKS 和 3DEXPERIENCE Works 解决方案能让您和您的团队快速地将新创意转化为优秀的产品。

Unmanned Freight Helicopter Company, Range Aero, Cuts Development Time by 40 Percent

3DEXPERIENCE Works Simulation integrated with SOLIDWORKS enables Range Aero to shorten design cycles by 30%, prototyping costs by 40%, and reduce landing gear weight by 18%.

Challenge

Develop autonomous freight helicopters—unmanned coaxial rotor-powered aircraft—for commercial and military transport quickly and cost-effectively to accelerate time to market. Leverage advanced simulation tools to analyze complex physical behaviors, thereby eliminating time-consuming and costly design and prototyping iterations.

Solution

Replace Siemens Simcenter® simulation software with SIMULIA Abaqus® advanced simulation tools for analyzing geometric, material, and contact nonlinearities in lieu of lengthy, expensive prototyping iterations.

Results

  • Shortened development time by 40 percent
  • Decreased development costs by 30 percent
  • Cut prototyping costs by 40 percent
  • Reduced weight of Jestar skid landing gear by 18 percent

RangeAero Private Limited is an India-based company that develops innovative unmanned, autonomous freight helicopters for regional commercial and military transport. Coaxial rotor-driven RangeAero helicopters are flown and controlled by ground crews. These characteristics offer many advantages for transporting smaller volumes of freight regionally, including less dependency on infrastructure and human pilots, greater operational flexibility and speed, optimal load capacity, reduced operating costs, and a smaller carbon footprint.

Designing rotor-based aircraft (rotorcraft) presents several unique engineering challenges, including complex mechanical and aerodynamic characteristics due to the interaction between the rotors, the fuselage, and the surrounding air, which can lead to unsteady aerodynamic loads that can cause undesirable vibration and noise. The structural design must also accommodate the rotor blades’ flexibility and the dynamic response of the structure to unsteady aerodynamic loads. In addition, to achieve optimum performance and efficiency, rotorcraft must be lightweight and compact—an additional huge challenge, because reducing the weight and size of a rotorcraft can affect its structural integrity, stability, and controllability.

RangeAero has used SOLIDWORKS® Premium design and analysis software for design modeling and basic linear static stress analysis. The company has also used Siemens Simcenter® simulation tools. When RangeAero needed the power of advanced nonlinear simulation tools to quickly and cost-effectively develop its products, the company replaced its Siemens tools with SIMULIA Abaqus advanced simulation, part of the 3DEXPERIENCE® Works Simulation portfolio of solutions, because Abaqus can solve all of the nonlinear problems associated with developing rotorcraft.

According to RangeAero CEO Arpit Sharma, “Using Abaqus has enabled the simulation of complex mechanical behavior, including nonlinear material behavior, geometric nonlinearities, and contact mechanics. Its integration with other software tools, specifically [SOLIDWORKS] CAD software, has also streamlined the design process, reducing the time and effort required to complete analysis tasks.”

Abaqus can simulate the behaviour of nonlinear materials, including plasticity, viscoelasticity, and damage. This is particularly useful for simulating the behaviour of materials that exhibit complex behaviour under stress, such as polymers, composites, and metals. Using Abaqus solution in the design of our complex aerospace system, the number of design iterations are reduced. In case of our first product, we achieved the product in 3 iterations and with the development time of 8 months which is 40% lesser than 5 iterations when only relying on the physical testing.

Related Resources

Facilitating Complex Simulations with Advanced Tools to Optimize Performance

With the power of Abaqus advanced simulation tools, RangeAero can simulate the effects of all of the different types of physical phenomena that affect rotorcraft performance, including nonlinear structural analysis, rotor dynamic analysis, dynamic drop simulations on landing gear, nonlinear contact analysis, and nonlinear materials (composites, carbon fiber, metal alloys, etc.) analysis, including plasticity, viscoelasticity, and fatigue analysis.

In addition, “Abaqus enables the automation of many of the tedious and time-consuming tasks involved in setting up and running simulations, such as meshing, boundary conditions, and post-processing,” Sharma adds. This has freed up time to focus on other aspects of the design process, such as optimization and validation.

Saving Time and Money and Winning the Race to Market

“Abaqus also helps identify design issues early in the process, before expensive prototypes or production runs are made. By simulating the behavior of a product before it is manufactured, potential problems are identified and corrected early, avoiding costly delays and rework. Additionally, Abaqus can help optimize the design to reduce material usage, resulting in cost savings,” Sharma notes. With Abaqus, RangeAero has substantially reduced the number of design and prototyping iterations, shortening design cycles by 30 percent, decreasing prototyping costs by 40 percent, and slashing development costs overall by 30 percent, while bringing products to market five months sooner. Using Abaqus simulation tools, RangeAero can go beyond design validation and optimize designs.

To compete in the rapidly evolving unmanned aircraft [drone] industry, companies must create an innovative quality product that’s also first to market. Sharma concludes, “It’s necessary to accelerate development and overcome engineering challenges more quickly. Abaqus simulation tools are helping RangeAero overcome these challenges, and the better we can utilize it, the more likely we will win the race to market and become a market leader.”

Learn More About 3DEXPERIENCE Works and SOLIDWORKS

Have questions about SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Works Solutions?

SOLIDWORKS and 3DEXPERIENCE Works solutions enable you and your team to quickly transform new ideas into great products.